installing moodle!

installing moodle!

by Ali Bakhshalizadeh -
Number of replies: 9

Hi everyone! I'd have to say I'm a beginner to PHP.  I'm trying to install moodle in my windows 2003 server at home.  I'm having trouble.

First, where do I obtain the database tables and etc from???  I don't see it inside the CVS moodle that I downloaded!!  I made attempt to download the mysql admin of moodle but for some reason that's not working! empty page comes up. 

I do have my own PHPmyAdmin web interface.. and I am attemping to setup the database, but I don't see where the tables are! could you help please?

Second, I revised the config-dist.php to my information... now is there a config.php involved? because there was none in the CVS download...   but I'm getting the following error:

Warning: main(config.php): failed to open stream: No such file or directory in C:\moodle\moodle\index.php on line 4

Fatal error: main(): Failed opening required 'config.php' (include_path='.;c:\php4\pear') in C:\moodle\moodle\index.php on line 4

I would greatly appreciate it if someone here could guide me through installation of moodle since I'm very interested.  Thanks so much. 

If anyone's willing to help my email is:  alibak@sbcglobal.net

Thanks again.

Average of ratings: -
In reply to Ali Bakhshalizadeh

Re: installing moodle!

by Martin Dougiamas -
Picture of Core developers Picture of Documentation writers Picture of Moodle HQ Picture of Particularly helpful Moodlers Picture of Plugin developers Picture of Testers
What you need is some install documentation:   http://moodle.org/doc/?frame=install.html  smile  
In reply to Martin Dougiamas

by Ali Bakhshalizadeh -

Hi! But I have looked at it already! I don't feel that I understood the database making! and the thing about config.php, AND also where I'd find the database files!! I don't see any .sql in the downloaded files!

please let me know. 

my email is:  alibak@sbcglobal.net

by Martin Dougiamas -