Installing Moodle on MAC OSX.

Installing Moodle on MAC OSX.

by Ahmed Hussein -
Number of replies: 5

I am new to moodle. I am trying to install it on an iMac running OSX 12.11.6. I also have MAMP 5.2 installed and running. When I tried to to drag moodle to applications, I was to either replace MAMP or merge moodle and MAMP.

Will merging destroy anything from my MAMP setup and will moodle work?

Thank for any help.

Average of ratings: -
In reply to Ahmed Hussein

Re: Installing Moodle on MAC OSX.

by Rick Jerz -
Picture of Particularly helpful Moodlers Picture of Testers

I am not exactly sure what you are trying to do.  In particular, I don't understand what you mean by "merge." Others might know, but I'll start with a few questions.  I run MAMP 5.1 on my Mac, but only for experimental purposes.

It appears that you have MAMP5.2 successfully running on your Mac? Right?  If you go to localhost in your browser, you get the MAMP Welcome screen.

No, dragging Moodle to your Mac's application area won't do anything.  Moodle needs to be in your htdocs folder within MAMP.

Before installing Moodle in MAMP, you need to create a Moodle database, typically/simply using phpMyAdmin.  And then you should create a folder called moodledata in your "data" folder of MAMP.

Finally, go to localhost/moodle, and moodle's install will start.

Moodle is not a Mac application.  It runs in a web server environment.

Hope this helps.

Average of ratings: Useful (1)
In reply to Rick Jerz

by Ahmed Hussein -

Thank you for your reply and the info.

I downloaded moodle 3.6 and  expanding it create a folder call MAMP which identical to the MAMP 5.2 I already have in my applications folder.  Tried to move the entire moodle MAMP into the application folder created the error message of  giving me the choice of replacing my existing MAMP or merging the tow MAMPS together. I realized that was a stupid mistake on my part I stopped the moving process.