Load Moodle on mobile devices

Load Moodle on mobile devices

by Regs Fun -
Number of replies: 4

Hi,

I'm new to Moodle but I have quite a lot experience with Joomla. I finished the installation of Moodle 3.3 on localhost (XAMPP) and changed the default theme to "Aardvark". Now I would like to test the responsiveness of the theme on my mobile and I'm stuck. I try to load my Moodle site by using my PC's ip address like this: 192.168.0.103/moodle - but it doesn't work. There's no error message, just a time out message after a while. If I enter only the IP address then the XAMPP dashboard comes up on my mobile. As a test, I also copied a fresh joomla installation into my htdocs folder and I'm able to access it on my mobile without any issues. So the Apache settings seem to be ok, the problem lies within the Moodle installation. I have enabled the movile service on my Moodle site, 

I also installed "Moodle for Mobile" on my Android device from the Play Store but I'm unable to connect to my site on localhost. The following is unclear for me:
- Is Moodle for Mobile a must have to load a Moodle site on a mobile device or it just provides some additional features but my Moodle site should also be displayed without it on a mobile device? After all, I have set a theme with responsive design so I don't see why it should be displayed on a mobile device without Moodle for Mobile. 

Can someone please help me to move forward with this issue? All I want is to be able to see my Moodle site on my mobile device.

Thanks 

Average of ratings: -
In reply to Regs Fun

Re: Load Moodle on mobile devices

by Marcus Green -
Picture of Core developers Picture of Particularly helpful Moodlers Picture of Plugin developers Picture of Testers

If you are accessing via an ip address you need to have that in your config.php.

The chances are your config.php has a line that says

$CFG->wwwroot   = 'http://localhost/moodle';