Is Email a requirement of badges?

Is Email a requirement of badges?

by Doug Moody -
Number of replies: 6

Just getting started with badges, and am wondering if it is a requirement for students to have an email account in order to be awarded badges from the badges backpack? If it is not a requirement, then do I need to do anything special to set up students on their badges backpack who do not have email?

I am a teacher who teaches younger students, and not all of them have email accounts.

Average of ratings: -
In reply to Doug Moody

Re: Is Email a requirement of badges?

by Jason Neiffer -

Without the email address, I think the badges have much less use.  In my mind, the point of the badge is to create a record of accomplishment hooked to an identity.  Without an associated email address, it would be difficult to confirm an identity.

Thanks,
Jason

In reply to Doug Moody

by Randy Thornton -
Picture of Documentation writers

Doug

OpenBadges currently defines the "recipient" of a badge only by an email address.

Mozilla's Backpack (the only one currently supported in Moodle) requires you to use Persona, their identity mechanism, which in turn is linked to an email account that it has validated. All the external backpacks I have seen so far require some sort of email address.

You can of course still issue badges to students in Moodle which will live on their Moodle profile in the Badges area without putting them in an external backpack at all.

I presume you are using some sort of made-up email for the Moodle accounts of students who have no real email address?

If so, be aware that when you issue a badge that it is valid only for that email address. Currently, Mozilla's Backpack will only allow you to upload a badge that was issued with the same email address as you are using for the backpack.