Bulk Course Upload tool question

Bulk Course Upload tool question

by Jason Hollowell -
Number of replies: 118
Picture of Particularly helpful Moodlers
Hello,

I'm struggling to get the Bulk Course Upload (and teacher enroll) tool working and have a question and plea for help.

I've managed to add a little code to get most of it working (see this thread) but am having trouble with the teacher enroll option.

I'm basically a novice when it comes to PHP & MySQL. I understand, a little, the structure of the database and have been poking around and trying to sort out how, or where, the value indicating what courses a user is enrolled in and what level of user he/she is enrolled as. In other words, if I have course "A" and want to look at the database and see who teaches course "A", where would I be able to find this information?

Knowing this probably won't help me but it was the route I was/am taking in order to try and figure out why the "enroll teachers" portion of the Bulk Course creation tool isn't working for me.

I'm running 1.8.4+ on PHP 5.2 (Ubuntu on my server). Not sure if 1.9 supports bulk course creation or not but I've got my 1.8.4+ fairly customized and the academic year starts on April 1st here in Japan so I'd rather not go through the excitement of upgrading right now.

If anyone knows what I'm talking about smile any advice or pointers that you can give would be greatly appreciated.

Jason
Average of ratings: -
In reply to Jason Hollowell

Re: Bulk Course Upload tool question

by Jeff Church -
Hi Jason,
Don't know if this will help but I will attach the script we are using to bulk create courses. Just put the file in the root/admin folder and when you are logged in as admin just go to the file location root/admin/uploadcourse.php

I will attach a sample CSV file as well. The teacher account must be created before assigning it to a course. Use the teacher user name in the CSV.