"Correct" and a red cross can appear simultaneously in a calculated question. Why have it so?

"Correct" and a red cross can appear simultaneously in a calculated question. Why have it so?

by graham crowder -
Number of replies: 9
In a calculated question (Moodle 1.9), it seems to me that an answer is marked as "Correct" if it falls within the tolerance band of the exact answer. However, it is marked with a green tick if it falls within the tolerance band of the rounded answer (i.e. the answer rounded to the required number of, for example, significant figures).

On occasion, this leads to an answer marked as "Correct" but given a red cross and, at other times, to an answer marked as "Incorrect" but given a green tick. The frequency of occurrence can be minimised by increasing the number of sig figs but I wonder why this is how things are set up. What advantage does this offer that outweighs the confusion engendered when it's first encountered?

I'm new to this, by the way, and find Moodle impressive but I couldn't find the answer to my query after digging round for a bit.

Graham
Average of ratings: -
In reply to graham crowder

Re: "Correct" and a red cross can appear simultaneously in a calculated question. Why have it so?

by Tim Hunt -
Picture of Core developers Picture of Documentation writers Picture of Particularly helpful Moodlers Picture of Peer reviewers Picture of Plugin developers
Can you give us a specific example of a question (Export it as Moodle XML perhaps, or just tell us the exact settings for creating it) and the answer you need to type to see this problem. Even better, put that information into the Moodle bug tracker: http://tracker.moodle.org/
In reply to Tim Hunt

Re: "Correct" and a red cross can appear simultaneously in a calculated question. Why have it so?

by graham crowder -
Thanks, Tim.