No admin--Ultra beginner

No admin--Ultra beginner

by Sean Kays -
Number of replies: 2
I am a teacher but there is no moodle server in the district. How do I set moodle for my class? Do I just have to do a local host?
I've searched for help but I am having difficulty find an answer to this problem.
Average of ratings: -
In reply to Sean Kays

Re: No admin--Ultra beginner

by Marty Jacobs -

The easiest way is to contact a company to host the site for you (unless you have the knowledge and resources available to set up a web server yourself). I suggest you use a Moodle Partner because they are vetted by Mr Moodle himself, so have a better understanding of the software than your average hosting company.

Once the site is set up, you can look for help here on the forums, or pay for some Moodle training. However, if you are fairly computer savvy you should be able to teach yourself how to use Moodle IMHO.

Marty

In reply to Sean Kays

Re: No admin--Ultra beginner

by Myrrh Lynn -
Hi Sean! (This post is ultra long - I'm sorry.)

A Moodle Partner WOULD be the best. But, if that option is not available for you, then you may just have to bite the bullet and do what I have done.
(Yes, true to my anti-establishment waysevil, I'm going to suggest another way.)

I'm a teacher at a small private school. I was told emphatically there was no money in the budget for anything "computer."

Fine. I'm just stubborn enough to do it myself!

So, I paid for my own website via a webhost (qualitychristianwebhosting.com) that offered a laundry list of features (Check out the Business hosting plan. I have not found anyone who could beat them. The customer service is phenomonal - 10 min response time!!! This alone was worth the price to me.) The cost is less than $60 US /yr. Plus, I get 3 'free' domains. (I've been meaning to have a personal web anyway!tongueout ) I had my first domain /site within 12 hours.