Second Life and Moodle for High School

Second Life and Moodle for High School

by tony deprato -
Number of replies: 4
Hi.

I am a High School teacher and a new Moodle admin. I also have experience withy PHP that is one reason I choose Moodle.

Our Moodle will move from Beta in August. Right now we are piloting classes and developing customized tutorials.

Recently I read some info on 2nd Life/Teen 2nd Life.

Aside from all the problems with security etc I would like to know how you would use 2nd Life with Moodle - http://www.sloodle.com/ - in a normal High School Setting.

Please look at the scenario below if you have time.
----------------

The highschool has about 400 students. 80 of them are in various IBO programs including IBCS . But most do not take IT after their Junior year due to the IB requirements they need to meet. And only about 5% have beyond HTML programming experience.

We currently have 6 IT courses and are adding 4 more next year: Digital Photography, Video Editing, General IT Basic Web, Advanced Web- HTML CSS XML Javascript, Intro to Progarmming- Java Script XML/ Ajax , IB Computer Science (Basic Java), Flash, and Robotics (Lego + NQC Programming).

In addition many of the teachers are using Blogs and Wikis. We are hoping Moodle can help provide a campus wide solution. Also all the IT teachers in HS and MS are setting up google personal pages (google.com/ig) with the students. This has been a huge success. The students like the flexibiliy of Google-IG plus the IG can embed RSS from anywhere.

I feel like we are doing alot with IT. So my first question is, what could we do with 2nd Life that we can't do now?

The 3D Modeling is looks very novel but our Design Tech students are in the IB program and they normally use Industry Standard software such as AutoCad. I am not sure if the SL modeling meets the IBO requirements. I have no idea on that. Maybe you do?