New to moodle and specific question

New to moodle and specific question

by Rhett Michelson -
Number of replies: 3
Hello,

I'm brand new to Moodle, MySQL, PHP, you name it. :P

The good news is that I've got them ALL running on Mac OSX. It looks great.

What I first want to do is to be able to have Moodle help out a NON-online course. Specifically, how can I have a student login and check his/her's grades?

For example, I give an exam and post the grades somehow that they can check with their individual passwords.

I know this is an open-ended question and maybe not appropriate for Moodle at all, but any information you can give me would be much appreciated.

Average of ratings: -
In reply to Rhett Michelson

Re: New to moodle and specific question

by Przemyslaw Stencel -
If you'd like to use Moodle as a gradebook for in-class activities, you can simply use the "offline assignment" for each grade you need. You will then be able to enter the grades for the whole class and when a student logs in, s/he will only be able to see his/her own grades.

Hope this helps smile

PS
But I'd strongly encourage you to explore other uses of Moodle as well. Even if Moodle is only used as a prop for offline classes, there are a lot of options: posting notes for students as resources, running asynchronous discussions, posting announcements which will be forwarded to students' email accounts. In fact, any Moodle activity type could be used in a blended course.
Good luck! big grin
In reply to Przemyslaw Stencel

by Rhett Michelson -
I ALMOST got that far on my own, but it may have been another week! Ha, ha! Thanks a lot. I'll have to play with it to find the best way to do it, but it looks pretty straightforward.

Yes, I've developed a web page, forum and other things for the offline class already and just stumbled across Moodle today, while looking for a way to do this thing. I'll experiment and see how else I could use Moodle for this class.

This is really great. Thanks again.