Editor preview

Editor preview

by Seth Martin -
Number of replies: 6
My institution currently uses Engage for our LMS. It is currently based on Moodle 3.X, but we will soon be upgrading to 4.0. I'm hoping that I can get an answer for both versions.

I am a chemistry and physics instructor and I use lots of formatting, especially LaTeX / MathJax, when I enter text. As far as I have found, none of the editors available allow for previews of what is entered in text areas. So if I type equations in a Quiz question, I have to save the question; open the preview to see if it rendered as expected; if not, reopen the question for editing and make changes; save the question; open the preview again; and repeat this process until it is right.

Many sites (stackechange sites being a prime example; see attached screenshot) provide previews of what is being entered in the editor. Is there a similar feature for any Moodle editor? On a somewhat different topic, is it possible to enter equations in the Markdown editor? I like Markdown for the ease with which I can add headers and formatting with very few keystrokes and not needing to switch to my mouse, but I haven't been able to get MathJax or LaTeX style text to work in the Markdown editor.

Average of ratings: -
In reply to Seth Martin

Re: Editor preview

by Mary Cooch -
Picture of Documentation writers Picture of Moodle HQ Picture of Particularly helpful Moodlers Picture of Testers Picture of Translators
Hello Seth. I am going to move your post to the dedicated Mathematics tools forum where our equation editor experts (and fans! ) will be able to help you more...
In reply to Mary Cooch

by Seth Martin -
Hi Mary,

This isn't just a math issue ,thought that is a large driver for my interest. What I want to know is of there is a way to see all of the formatted text, etc on the same screen as an editor.
In reply to Seth Martin

by Daniel Thies -
Picture of Core developers Picture of Plugin developers Picture of Testers

Hi Seth,