Time limit per question - implementation guide

Time limit per question - implementation guide

by Dawid Bartkowiak -
Number of replies: 34

I need to add time limit per question to the quiz activity. After searching this forum I can see that this is not easy to implement. Some people argue why would one need this option. The reason I need it is I am trying to make a platform where people can prepare for a real government exam which has this limit. 

I would like to write a plugin that adds this functionality.

• should I copy the whole quiz module, add the functionality and install it as a new module?
  • can I add this functionality to the quiz module by writing a local plugin? 
  • should I take another approach?
I would appreciate if someone could guide me in the right direction as I am new to Moodle.

I am using moodle_37_stable.
Average of ratings: -
In reply to Dawid Bartkowiak

Re: Time limit per question - implementation guide

by Rick Jerz -
Picture of Particularly helpful Moodlers Picture of Testers
Does the government exam impose a time limit "per question" or "per exam?"

Tim Hunt is the person who probably knows the most about Moodle's quiz engine, and I am sure that he has seen others wanting a time-limit per question. Maybe he will see your question, jump in, and let you know about how difficult your need is to program.

You might want to search the Tracker system and see if this is already a feature request. Then, vote on it. If not, create a feature request yourself.
In reply to Rick Jerz

Odp: Re: Time limit per question - implementation guide

by Dawid Bartkowiak -
The government exam impose 3 time limits: "per question review", "per question answer" and "per exam".

I have good c#, javascript (node.js) and some php experience. It would be nice to hear from Mr. Tim Hunt. I can of course read all the code but any advice/pointing me in the right direction would make my life much easier.