Need help with changing mysql configuration

Need help with changing mysql configuration

by Aki Tsirigotis -
Number of replies: 12

Hi everyone,

I seem to be getting a bit frustrated with upgrading my Moodle site, so I hope someone can help me. Please note, I am not a MySQL expert (or on databases). I manually upgraded my Moodle site from 3.4.8 to 3.6.6+ and I am receiving some messages from Moodle before the installation can go through:

What I am struggling with is how the heck do I change these settings in MySQL? I followed the moodle directions and i have no clue. My hosting provider is Godaddy and I am trying to access MySQL via my CPanel. So, do I change these settings through myPHP? If so, how I do I find the my.cnf file? I am completely lost. I cannot find anything on the web that can show me this step-by-step. I always see something if you are using Windows or Linux, but it does not apply in my situation.

Thanks!

Average of ratings: -
In reply to Aki Tsirigotis

Re: Need help with changing mysql configuration

by Ken Task -
Picture of Particularly helpful Moodlers

Resident expert on GoDaddy hosted Moodle - Rick Jerz - should be along any minute now.   Where are ya, Rick? smile

Just for some prelim info ... Rick will probably ask any way ...

Is your account with GoDaddy on a shared system or do you have a VPS (virtual private system)?

And just so you know ... on shared system some of the things you've mentioned/shown can't be changed ... shared system DB changes for example can't be made for one customer cause the other X number of customers could be affected adversely by the change.

And ... cPanel doesn't run on Windows, so you are using an interface into a Linux system.