Quiz Access Rule subplugin

Quiz Access Rule subplugin

by David Aylmer -
Number of replies: 3

Hi all,

Background:
I've now worked for four organisations that have asked me to change the way quiz navigation works for their moodle sites. They have all been sites that deliver completely on-line learning (not blended, not classroom).

Typically these demands have been made by UI/UX/ID experts and has been focused on two things:
- Reducing the number of clicks for navigation
- Reducing the amount of information visible to the learner (other than the learning material)

One of these organisations used quizzes with a large number of questions (~200) but all of the others used very small numbers of questions. Typically between 5-10 questions per quiz, and often just one question!
I'm not an instructional designer by any means... but the goal often seems to be micro-learning (on a small piece of learning content) and performing spot checks on said learning using existing question banks. (And taking advantage of grades and activity completion based on quiz completion, grades, minimum scores etc..)

A single-question-quiz has something like the following user journey:
view.php
startattempt.php
attempt.php
summary.php
review.php
view.php

I have delivered this behaviour of reducing navigation in the past via overriding renderers in a theme.
This works well but has always been theme specific.

The following is a bit of an quick and dirty experiment that bastardises the quiz accessrule subplugin system to skip some of the above navigation paths via page redirects.
It seems to work. It seems to be compatible with the rest of quiz.
Feedback welcome. Use at your own risk.

https://github.com/tellit/moodle-quizaccess_ldflow

screenshot showing settings for this subplugin

Average of ratings: Useful (4)
In reply to David Aylmer

Re: Quiz Access Rule subplugin

by Tim Hunt -