Many teachers the same course but the students only see the students the same teacher

Many teachers the same course but the students only see the students the same teacher

by Patty SV -
Number of replies: 5

Hi,

I'm new in moodle and I've seen this forum but I don't find the same problem-idea.

I need to define a course, with many lessons. This is easy, I think. But I need to enrol many teacher to this course and each teacher with their students.

I want that each teacher only see their students, their progress,... and their students only see the student of this teacher, not all the students of the course.

Can I do this?

Thanks in advance for your help.

Patricia

Average of ratings: -
In reply to Patty SV

Re: Many teachers the same course but the students only see the students the same teacher

by Ray Hinton -
Hi Patricia,

That sounds like something you could do using Groups: https://docs.moodle.org/37/en/Groups

Then teachers can choose to view particular groups in various contexts (forum, assignments, gradebook, etc.). However, if you want teachers to ONLY see their particular group (and not groups that belong to other teachers), you may need to tweak the Teacher role, or create a custom role and change some of the related capabilities, especially "Access all groups".

Once you create the groups and put the correct people in them, you also might need to configure how the groups are handled by the various activities.

It can get a little complex getting the settings to match exactly the experience that you are trying to create, so I hesitate to write too many details. There a lot of pages in Moodle Docs about Groups, so I would encourage you to browse through them and get some ideas. Let us know your progress!

- Ray
In reply to Ray Hinton

Re: Many teachers the same course but the students only see the students the same teacher

by Patty SV -
Hi Ray,

thanks in advance for your answer.

I'm going to explain the situation to explain my problem.