Confused about default language setting

Confused about default language setting

by JC Blanchard -
Number of replies: 8

I am new to Moodle and I need some help understanding the default language setting.

I have selected "French - Canada" as the default language on my Home page.

But, in the Site Administration, the default language setting remains English.

Should I change both settings?  Why 2 settings for the same option?

Average of ratings: -
In reply to JC Blanchard

Re: Confused about default language setting

by koen roggemans -
Picture of Core developers Picture of Documentation writers Picture of Moodle HQ Picture of Particularly helpful Moodlers Picture of Plugin developers Picture of Translators

There is a language setting in the user profile field, which is the default language for the user

There is a default language setting in admin (lang) which is the default language for the site (= when user is not logged in)

On top of that, you can enable browser detection of your language (autolang). In that case, the language is what your browser thinks your language is.

And then you can set a specific language for every course if you want.

So lots of places where it can go wrong smile

My suggestion is:

- Look at your profile when logged in and make sure that is what you want.

- Perform a search for" language" (or whatever the word is in the language you are looking at) in side administration, looking through all the settings and try to understand them. If you don't - leave them as default.

- Disable in those settings the browser detection setting (autolang)

So I hope there is something in this too long post that gives you a clue to solve your problem smile

Average of ratings: Useful (2)
In reply to koen roggemans

by JC Blanchard -

Hi Koen,