Can Teachers enroll students in bulk into a course with a CSV file?

Can Teachers enroll students in bulk into a course with a CSV file?

by Mario Gharib -
Number of replies: 8

Dear Moodlers, 

1. Moodle 3.1 (Postgresql 9.2.2; PHP Version 5.5.26) with
  2. Server RedHatEnterpriseServer 5.3 Tikanga (Apache/2.2.4) RAM 32GB; CPU 8 GHz,
How can I allow a teacher to enroll his/her students in bulk into a course with a CSV file?

As an admin, I can enroll students in bulk into a course with a CSV file.
So it is possible to give this permission to all who have a Teacher role ? 

Many thanks,

Average of ratings: -
In reply to Mario Gharib

Re: Can Teachers enroll students in bulk into a course with a CSV file?

by Randy Thornton -
Picture of Documentation writers

There is no tool to do this in courses.

You could give the moodle/site:uploadusers capability to teachers to allow them to perform user uploads the same as Managers can.  You could create a system level role with that one permission and add them to it.

But if you do so, there may be nothing to prevent a teacher from enrolling people in courses other than their own, nothing to prevent them from adding new users, deleting users, or changing the information for existing users. Definitely test what they could do.

Also, if the csv file has errors or other problems during the upload, they may not have the ability to figure out what went wrong, since they can not see all the user accounts in Browse list of users.

In reply to Randy Thornton

by Mario Gharib -

Dear Randy,

Thank you for your reply,

Actually we've found a plugin that allow teacher to enroll massively, via csv files, their students,

In reply to Mario Gharib

by Randy Thornton -

Mario,

Which plugin are you using? Is it working well?

by Mario Gharib -
In reply to Mario Gharib

by Randy Thornton -

Thanks Mario. 

Looks like a useful plugin. Hope it gets updated for Moodle 3.1 and 3.2 soon, it is a bit out of date.

by mony ong -

Hi,