Rebooted server - Cron jobs not running

Rebooted server - Cron jobs not running

by eric w -
Number of replies: 11

Hello all,

I am a new admin, running Moodle 3.1 on Ubuntu 12 using LAMP.  On Feb. 13th, I had to shutdown the server for a brief period of time. When I started it back up, everything seemed fine. No apparent problems.

PROBLEM:

Recently, I was informed that instructors were not receiving email notifications for News Forums posts. My research leads  me to believe that there is an issue with cron where the jobs which send these emails are not running.  
Furthermore, I noticed that my weekly backup did not run on February 17th (which was after the shutdown event). Again, this leads me to believe that there is an issue with cron, and that it is related to the shutdown event.

I am super busy, and struggling with deadlines, and so I am hoping that someone can point me in the right direction or provides some insight on how to fix cron so that these jobs run. 

Average of ratings: -
In reply to eric w

Re: Rebooted server - Cron jobs not running

by Ken Task -
Picture of Particularly helpful Moodlers

Because you say moodle's cron job + other cron jobs are not running, shall assume crond (which is a daemon/service) wasn't set to startup on reboot:

https://www.cyberciti.biz/faq/howto-linux-unix-start-restart-cron/

'spirit of sharing', Ken

In reply to Ken Task

by eric w -

Thank you both for your responses smile

I ran the command to start the cron daemon, but before I did that, I checked the status of crond by using the following command:

/etc/init.d/cron status

I have posted the results of the status command.  It looks as though it was running, but maybe it just needed to be restarted?   I'll check with some of the instructors to see if they are receiving the emails now.

Attachment cron status output.PNG
In reply to eric w

by eric w -