Change text in the Course Admin nav panel

Change text in the Course Admin nav panel

by Duren Thompson -
Number of replies: 5

I am running Moodle 3.1.1 Build 20160908 and the UIKit theme, with very few modifications (nearly new 'out of the box').

I am a course designer and multi-course Moodle manager with full admin privileges who has inherited the job of administering a Moodle server (running several instances) when the previous admin left. In short, I am learning on the job as fast as I can, but DO NOT have any training or experience in SQL or programming for Moodle. [*If* the problem is big enough, I can spend $ to hire a Moodle programmer/sysadmin to fix it, but I am supposed to solve the small stuff myself.]

I am TRYING to make a simple instance-wide change to the wording in all Course Administration navigation panels. I want the word Grades *in that panel for every course* to say "Transcript."  Everything I have read seems to indicate that I can do this by editing the text via Advanced Features >Language plugin >Language customization.

My problem is, I don't know where, in Moodle, this text lives in order to edit it. I HAVE tried selecting ALL components from the list in the customization screen, and searching for strings containing Grades. I have changed ALL instances of the stand alone word Grades available to me via that search. Resulting in NO change in the Text in the course administration panel.  [I have changed the words Grades in *several* other places successfully, so I am sure I am simply not getting to the right place somehow..)

Can any one assist me in locating that SPECIFIC component/string and changing the text  for all courses?  OR, If I am going at this problem the wrong way, provide me with instructions for making this change?

I feel that this should be an easy and simple thing...

Average of ratings: -
In reply to Duren Thompson

Re: Change text in the Course Admin nav panel

by Robert Brenstein -