I am new to Dataform - I have 3 questions on usability

I am new to Dataform - I have 3 questions on usability

by Frankie Kam -
Number of replies: 18
Picture of Plugin developers

Hi Itamar 

This is first time implementing the amazing Dataform in a real-life scenario at my office. In short, I am interested in using Moodle as a Document Management System (DMS) and a file repository. And I believe that your Dataform module will help me achieve this goal.

But I'm a newbie. So, straight off the bat, I have three questions to ask:

Q1. 

Let's say I have added a field, category, which a Text Field, to the record. Then later, I change my mind and decide that category should actually be a Selection Type. 

Is there any way I can reassign category field to be of Selection Type without have to delete the field and re-adding it?

Q2. 
My Moodle site has two kind of users. Franchisees and others. So after adding the below three records, if a Moodle user is a Franchisee, I want him to only see the third row (ab02-doc3.docx) data when browsing. This is because the value of pointofuse is "franchise". 

Likewise, if a user is NOT a franchisee, then I want him to be able to see the first two rows. This is because in both rows1 and 2, the values of pointofuse do not contain the word "franchise". 

In other words, I want to automatically filter the records based on the type (group?) of Moodle user that is currently logged into the course.  So in this way some security of data confidential is ensured. For example, I don't want a franchisee to have access to a document is set as a non-franchisee document. Likewise, if the document is set as "franchisee" in the pointofuse field, then the franchisee can view the record in the Browse mode.

SO, Is there any setting or view manipulation that I can do that will achieve this? Or must I modify the core code?

Q3.