Use choice to allow students to select a seminar

Use choice to allow students to select a seminar

by Roger Ek -
Number of replies: 8

We would like to have a tool that enables students in a course to select one seminar (or exam etc) event from a few numbers of equal seminars provided.

This would require the teacher to set a limit for each event, i e number of seats, so that when the limit is reached, the next student need to select another event.

While this requirement could be solved also in other modules (appointment or attendance probably), I tried to hack a little in the choice module.

Since I am brand new to this, I am not sure of the procedure to follow, but I post my attempt here for anyone to test it. Be aware that I added some fields in the MySQL choice table, but I did not add code for other DB.

To use the new "limit" feature you need to set a limit for the choices. You may also want to turn on the "Allow update" parameter to allow students to change their choice (within the limits of course..).

I included the choice english language file in the zip, should of course be moved to the lang/en folder.

And, consider it a beta...

Roger

Average of ratings: -
In reply to Roger Ek

Re: Use choice to allow students to select a seminar

by Martin Dougiamas -
Picture of Core developers Picture of Documentation writers Picture of Moodle HQ Picture of Particularly helpful Moodlers Picture of Plugin developers Picture of Testers
Sorry I didn't respond earlier, Roger.  blush.gif 

Thanks for the code ... the modification does indeed sound useful ... it's on my list of code to look at.
In reply to Martin Dougiamas

by Roger Ek -

Hope you will like it enough to include in the standard version. wink.gif

After some further testing, found missing help information, so I post an updated help file here. Should be placed in ..lang/en/help/choice folder of course.

In reply to Roger Ek

by Tim Allen -