Bulk / automated course creation with phpMyAdmin

Bulk / automated course creation with phpMyAdmin

by John Molohan -
Number of replies: 80
Hello all,

I'm trying to automate the creation of a couple of thousand courses for our moodle site. I'm using phpMyAdmin with some sucess. I can use a text file to insert multiple courses but I need some help and clarification on some of the fields (caveat, I'm new to sql, php, moodle smile ).

At the moment we use these Column names id,category,sortorder,fullname,shortname,idnumber,summary,format,showgrades,modinfo,blockinfo,newsitems,teacher,teachers,student,students,guest,startdate

And our text file looks like this

'','2','999','abc0094','A N Other test No 094','NCC-F-AN094','NCC-F-AN094','This is another 0094 test','topics','1','','','5','Lecturer','Lecturers','Student','Students','','10'

This is working.

The id number is generated by myslq when we use a blank field entry ie ''.

The first problem I have is with the sortorder, with a blank field moodle does not autogenerate this and fails the import. If I generate random or predefined sortorder values how will these work when new courses are added through moodle? How does moodle itself generate these sortorders? Could I get moodle to auto create these?

The second question is can someone clarify the modinfo and blockinfo entries, what values they take and what data that corresponds to. I'm pushed for time on this project so I'm sorry if this has been covered elsewhere but I've searched moodle.org and done my googling but turned up nothing.

Any help appreciated,

John Molohan

Moodle version 1.4.4

Average of ratings: -
In reply to John Molohan

Re: Bulk / automated course creation with phpMyAdmin

by Scott Krajewski -