Moodle 2.6 Student cannot see Forum Posts

Moodle 2.6 Student cannot see Forum Posts

by Kris Veldheer -
Number of replies: 8

I have a faculty member who has set up a Q & A Forum for students.  Now, some of the students are saying they cannot see other people's posts even after they post their own responses to the questions.  The faculty member has suggested the students set within Forums either (1) Display Replies in Nested Form or (2) Display replies Flat with newest first, thinking the two allow you to see everything.

When I tried going into the class I can only see the whole forum when I am an Administrator and the faculty member is seeing everything in her role as Editing Teacher.  

Any ideas or suggestions as to why the student cannot see other people's posts?  Is there something not set correctly on the server that needs to be changed?

Thanks!

Average of ratings: -
In reply to Kris Veldheer

Re: Moodle 2.6 Student cannot see Forum Posts

by Randy Wald -
Is the Groups feature being used?
In reply to Randy Wald

by Kris Veldheer -

No, the Groups feature isn't being used.  There are groups set up in the class, but this Forum is set to No Groups.

I looked at that right away because I thought that might be where the issue was, but I couldn't see anything and figured that since this particular Forum wasn't using Groups, it wasn't a factor.

Could it being something not set correctly on the Server?

Thanks for the question and help Randy!

Svar: Re: Moodle 2.6 Student cannot see Forum Posts

by Simon Heissler -

Wrong setup in forum administration/permissons ?

by Mark Pearson -

My suggestion is to do a 'Login As' the student concerned. Go to the Forum as that student and see whether you can do the Reply.

If that doesn't show anything untoward then ask the student to demonstrate the problem with the particular laptop/browser combination he/she is using. That will often show up browser or docking problems.