Upgrading to Moodle 2.7+

Upgrading to Moodle 2.7+

by Joel Riddell -
Number of replies: 2

Hi,

I am having difficulty upgrading my Moodle box to Moodle 2.7+ It is a Ubuntu box and I haven't had a problem any other upgrade it's just now that this install requires me to upgrade our current version of PHP 5.3.10 to at least PHP 5.4.4.

I have never done an upgrade of PHP before so am completely new to it. I have followed all the steps I can find on the internet to do the upgrade but can't get it to work. 

From my Googling around I am guessing that the new PHP install overwrites certain config files but I have no idea how to get around that. Is it possible to just copy config files from the old install and overwrite them on the new?

Any guidance would be great.

Thanks,

Joel

Average of ratings: -
In reply to Joel Riddell

Re: Upgrading to Moodle 2.7+

by Ken Task -
Picture of Particularly helpful Moodlers

It might help to know the specific version of Ubuntu (Long Term Support or other?)

It's not only PHP, but MySQL: requirements on downloads.moodle.org says: PHP 5.4.4,MySQL 5.5.31

And there are extensions to PHP that are also required/highly recommended.

And please provide reference to the FAQ's/docs, etc. you found and used to upgrade PHP.   Were they official Ubuntu docs or other blog posting?

Without knowing specifics to operating system version, etc. found this via Google:

http://askubuntu.com/questions/343560/update-server-php-version-to-5-4-10-via-the-command-line

but the above might not apply to your situation and it does contain a twist, but does state:

PHP 5.4.10 is not available in the Ubuntu repositories for 12.04.