General help

Clueless newbie, need hosting advice

Picture of Gina Evan
Clueless newbie, need hosting advice

Hello there, 

I am a musician currently volunteering at an underprivileged area school in London. They do not have a moodle site, and they do not have money either (or would not spend money on something they do not understand, such as moodle).

I have used moodle as a student, and I want to create a moodle course for my students. The thing is that I do not wish to pay for the hosting. 

I am a musician, therefore not tech savvy. 

Nevertheless, I have built several websites online, using free hosting sites such as weebly, wordpress, yola, and I have a few registered domains on godaddy as well.  I also know how to setup subdomains and everything. 

I know that you need a domain name to launch your moodle site. I can use a subdomain from the domains I already own, or even buy a new one (.info costs so little anyway).

My problem is servers and hosting.  I would like to avoid this, as it is a cost of at least 6$ a month as I understand it, so it is money I do not feel like spending for something I do as a volunteer. 

Is there anyway that I would not pay money for that? 

Is there any free hosting service at all currently?   I found an older thread but all the options mentioned were no longer available. 

Also, are there any "official" videos by moodle for dummies like myself? :P 

Average of ratings: -
Picture of Howard Miller
Re: Clueless newbie, need hosting advice
Group DevelopersGroup Documentation writersGroup Particularly helpful Moodlers

While I am sympathetic to your situation... unfortunately, what you get for nothing is generally nothing. Even the low-cost hosting plans either don't run Moodle or don't run it very well. Moodle is quite a big application and needs properly hosted. 

Creating a new domain is the easy bit.

Picture of Jamie Howard

Hi Gina,