Some basic questions

Some basic questions

by Michael Karlsson -
Number of replies: 3

Hi,

I have a handful of basic questions since I'm new to this, but using Moodle for a course I'm teaching. I would be greateful for any reply.

I understand that Moodle is a VLE, similar to Blackboard, FirstClass and other, but I'm a bit unclear of which tools people are using for creating their content to put on Moodle.

I have realise that SCORM compatibility is an important issue. Could I for instance use Adobe e-learning suite to create my content that would go on Moodle? How important is the SCORM compatibility? I assume that there is a huge number of various programs out there to create material to put on Moodle, but are there any 'favoured' programs that work well with Moodle? Ideally I'm looking for something that is as easy as possible to use, and it is ok if it costs money.

Thanks in advance,

M

Average of ratings: -
In reply to Michael Karlsson

Re: Some basic questions

by Mary Cooch -
Picture of Documentation writers Picture of Moodle HQ Picture of Particularly helpful Moodlers Picture of Testers Picture of Translators

Well just a quick answer - one of the things about Moodle is you don't need to have SCORM programs or the like as you can make your content using Moodle's built in tools - assessment, collaboration , presentation, bloggin, reflection - etc etc - all these are possible with Moodle assignments,wikis,surveys,forums , webpages, choices and much more. I would investigate what Moodle  has already before looking to external content

Average of ratings: Useful (1)
In reply to Michael Karlsson

by Tim Hunt -
Picture of Core developers Picture of Documentation writers Picture of Particularly helpful Moodlers Picture of Peer reviewers Picture of Plugin developers

In a sense you are asking the wrong question.

The whole point of the internet is that it is a way for people to communicate when they otherwise couldn't.