Need to circumvent - "Dataroot location is not secure" issue

Need to circumvent - "Dataroot location is not secure" issue

by Rick Morice -
Number of replies: 5

Hi,

I'm a web developer who's been tasked with looking into Moodle.

Ultimately my problem is as follows: I have a local machine that we have a "work in progress" folder ../wip/ which has all my projects within it.

For ease of use XAMPP's apache serves the whole folder.

For backup purposes, all data should be stored there.

So - for testing and mooching about I have set up a core folder wip/moodle-mooching/moodle and tried to install there. When it asks for a data folder I have set up a wip/moodle-mooching/moodle-data.

Obviously this is "insecure" as it is being served by Apache. However, in a local example I understand this etc, and simply want it to do as it's told.

1) How do I circumvent this problem?

2) Surely whether someone does this is their choice, and thus shouldn't it be an option? I fully understand "complaining loudly at someone" for this, but it's still a valid choice.

If anyone has a fix for this it'd be appreciated.

Cheers

Rick

Average of ratings: -
In reply to Rick Morice

Re: Need to circumvent - "Dataroot location is not secure" issue

by Rick Morice -

For reference:

http://docs.moodle.org/en/Creating_Moodle_site_data_directory

I have changed my apache httpd.conf to include:

<Directory "C:\wip\moodle-mooching\moodle-data">

Order allow,deny

Deny from all

</Directory>

This correctly serves a 403 forbidden, but still fails to work with the Moodle installer.

In reply to Rick Morice

by Rick Morice -

Ok - for reference if anyone is interested.

The way to escape the install security validator is to install, allowing the folder to be in a separate location - I used a usb pen drive.

I then simply copied the generated folders in the datastore to the new "insecure" location and changed the "$CFG->dataroot" path in config.php.