How to secure the Data Root for Moodle files?

How to secure the Data Root for Moodle files?

by nicole hackett -
Number of replies: 22
How do you make sure that the data root that stores Moodle files is secure from public access?
Average of ratings: Useful (1)
In reply to nicole hackett

Re: How to secure the Data Root for Moodle files?

by Tim Hunt -
Picture of Core developers Picture of Documentation writers Picture of Particularly helpful Moodlers Picture of Peer reviewers Picture of Plugin developers
You put it on the server's hard disc somewhere where apache (or whichever web server you are using) will not serve those files.
Average of ratings: Useful (1)
In reply to Tim Hunt

by Vladimir Torres -

Hello

I'm facing the same issue. Sorry by the question but I am very new with Moodle and Web programming (I'm just a teacher trying Moodle). My installation was made automaticallly by the hosting Company. I have access to all the a files in my site. How can I specifically do what you are suggesting?

In reply to Vladimir Torres

by E. L. Cooper -
here is a video I did on fixing the location and there is a sample config file at the bottom of the page http://www.e-blackboard.org/mod/resource/view.php?id=508
Average of ratings: Useful (2)
In reply to E. L. Cooper

by Jane Sherman -
ELCooper - your video was really excellent. Thanks so much. Jane
In reply to E. L. Cooper

by Leonard Cox -
I have two Moodle installs on the same web server. I have move the uploaddata folder for my first installation. If I move the second Moodle installation uploaddata folder will each Moodle install be able to locate the appropriate folder? Is it possible to use only one uploaddata folder for both installs? Thanks
In reply to E. L. Cooper

by Amber Starfire -

I want to thank you for your video. Worked like a charm! smile

by Steven A -
By default, the Moodle installer will put a folder called "moodledata" outside of what is publically accessible via the web.