Newb here...

Newb here...

by Tom Connolly -
Number of replies: 2
Hi! I started learning about moodle a couple of years ago and then stopped because it felt overwhelming sad ...bad mistake on my part.

This fall I will begin a course to become certified as an online teacher so want to dig out the "Moodle" part of my brain so that I can learn how to use this tool in my career.

I am still at the stage where I am trying to figure out what Moodle is. Maybe the best place to start is to tell you what I need.

1. I need a program that has an instruction mode - would look a bit like PowerPoint. I do need, however, for the program to be interactive but have more options than "continue" and "back". Every 2 or 3 slides I would like to be able to ask the student a t/f or multiple choice question and have the computer grade this "pop quiz" and make suggestions to the student as to what to do next. For example if the correct answer was "C" but the student choose an incorrect answer I would like to have the computer say something like "Nice try, but that is not the best answer. To help review xyz point please click on the "review" button at the bottom of the page. To find the correct answer click on the "answer" button at the bottom of the page.

2. I need to be able to incorporate audio, graphics and video.

3. Ideal would be an intelligent "flash card" mode, similar to a quiz, but would keep track of errors students made so that the next time they opened the flash card program the computer would drill the students on the "cards" that they made errors on. There should be some kind of structured review for all of the cards but the troublesome cards would be reviewed more often. (I think this is called "spaced repetition".)

4. Also idea, I need to to able to display a map and have students click on a part of that map as an answer to a question in a quiz or click on a part of the map to take them to the lesson associated with that part of the country/world/city, etc.

Thanks!