Enhance Moodle with streaming video and synchronized PPT

Enhance Moodle with streaming video and synchronized PPT

by Wen Hao Chuang -
Number of replies: 17

Hi, all:

I'm kinda new to Moodle although I'm quite excited about this open-source platform. I'm currently volunteering at San Francisco State University as a developer and researcher. We are trying to develop some tools for moodle, and one thing that we are thinking about is to develop a add-on module to integrate streaming video with syncrhonized PPT (PowerPoint) files for online presentations. I did find there is another exciting project called "PowerPoint Flips" (see: http://powerpointflip.sourceforge.net/index.php) which seems to be exactly what we are trying to achieve, but the next step is to "integrate" this open source project with Moodle. The goal is that the instructor (or the course developer) only have to upload PPT and streaming video (.rm or quicktime movie) files to the Moodle server, and this add-on module will automatically generate SMIL files that could be used for a synchronized video presentation. Just curious whether there are anyone out there who are already doing this type of integration, and if so, what is your status right now? If anyone who are interested in helping out with this integration project, please also let me know. Thanks!

best regards,

Average of ratings: -
In reply to Wen Hao Chuang

Re: Enhance Moodle with streaming video and synchronized PPT

by Ray Lawrence -
I know anything about how to achieve your objectives, but I wondered whilst reading your post whether it might be be easier to use video and PPT converted to flash as Moodle already has a filter for this format.
In reply to Ray Lawrence

by Wen Hao Chuang -
wow, thanks! We just set up a server and are still testing it. Could you please give me a direct link for the PPT -> Flash filter and its documentation? Also, could it do video/voice sync with the PowerPoint? Many thanks! smile
In reply to Ray Lawrence