2 LDAP authentication and custom accounts

2 LDAP authentication and custom accounts

by prit chan -
Number of replies: 4
Hi all.

this is my first time here. I have started getting the basic idea about it now. So before u make any assumption, i am still newbie to moodle.

But not a newbie to php or mysql. I am php programmer.

Heres my problem.

My institutes is using moodle to deliver their training courses. So far they have used it without any ldap authentication. they created the accounts and handled out the password for them to change later.

Now, i have seen that they face problems with uses forget their password. They forget that the moodle password and they email (ldap) password are not the same. its not a SSO portal.

Now, i want to help them. after talking to them over the weekend, i find that they have 2 ldap server. one for students and one for staff.
students have a id that starts with C and has 6 digits eg, C001234. Staff has the firstname, a period and the surname eg, bill.gates

I know that moodle uses the user table to store the users and their password.

I have used "adLDAP - LDAP Authentication with PHP for Active Directory" http://adldap.sourceforge.net/ to test the authentication of the 2 ldap servers separately (both for student and staff).

What i plan to do it place all student and staff usernames into the user table of moodle (without any password). when someone feeds the username and password, i will check if that username exists in the user table. If so then, i will get it authenticated via either the staff ldap server or the student ldap server.

Once the username is authenticated, i want to set its cookies so that moodle sees it as a logged in users and its carry on with its normal process.

I see that with i access moodle, it creates 3 cookies MoodleSession, MoodleSessionTest, MOODLEID_ and its content is some werid characters. After i login, another cookies MOODLEID_ is created.