How do I stop students from posting to a forum?

How do I stop students from posting to a forum?

by Elaine Walsh -
Number of replies: 21

Hi,

For the past few years I have been managing collaborate assessment techniques using forums in Moodle for distance education students. One technique is to create debates around different topics. We recently upgraded to Moodle Version 1.8.

In the settings I have set up seperate groups (not forced). I have the individual forums set to standard forum for general use and seperate. Once the debating period of the year has ended I normally edit the forum and set the Forum type to No discussions no replies. I have been doing this for the past three years. However, I now can not do this.

Does anyone know how to stop students from posting to the forums?

Thanks,

Elaine

Average of ratings: -
In reply to Elaine Walsh

Re: How do I stop students from posting to a forum?

by Steve Hyndman -

I've done (still do) the same type thing with forums. In 1.6 and earlier it's pretty easy...you can do what you want from a simple dropdown. In 1.8, not so simple...you need to edit the forum, click on the "Roles" tab, click on "override roles", click on "student", then look through the multitude of settings and change the appropriate ones from "inherit" to "prevent".

And that's without using groups...with groups I'm just guessing that will work. 

Good luck.

Steve 

In reply to Steve Hyndman

by Elaine Walsh -

Hi Steve,

Thank you for your reply.

I think you need to be an administrator to do this? I don't have the "override roles" option as I am in as a teacher/facilitator. I've spoken to our people with admin rights, within our university, but they have told me that "override roles" doesn't work.

Elaine

In reply to Elaine Walsh

by Steve Hyndman -

I just use a test 1.8 site and I am an admin, so that may be true. If it is, that's unfortunate.