Group Mode doesn't allow reply in Standard forum for general use

Group Mode doesn't allow reply in Standard forum for general use

by Paweł Zakrzewski -
Number of replies: 9
I have 5 groups in course.
The Course is set Group mode: Visible.
Moodle 1.8.2+

If teacher add new discusion to forum (to all Groups), students, which are in group, can't reply to this discusion.

You have any idea? What cause this problem?

I will be grateful for help smile

Average of ratings: -
In reply to Paweł Zakrzewski

Re: Group Mode

by Pat Fox -

I'm a newbie myself, and having similar problems. I yesterday I (as teacher or as an admin) couldn't repond to a forum, but when I logged in as a student I could. Today as I hunted around, I got the idea to change group mode to no groups, and I can post now. When I clicked the help button, I get the below- so I can't help but wonder if there isn't a course setting versus activity setting that is giving us this issue.:

Group Mode

The group mode can be one of three levels:

• No groups - there are no sub groups, everyone is part of one big community
  • Separate groups - each group can only see their own group, others are invisible
  • Visible groups - each group works in their own group, but can also see other groups

The group mode can be defined at two levels:

1. Course level

The group mode defined at the course level is the default mode for all activities defined within that course

2. Activity level

Each activity that supports groups can also define its own grouping mode. If the course is set to "force group mode" then the setting for each activity is ignored.

In reply to Pat Fox

by David Mudrák -
Picture of Core developers Picture of Documentation writers Picture of Moodle HQ Picture of Particularly helpful Moodlers Picture of Peer reviewers Picture of Plugin developers Picture of Plugins guardians Picture of Testers Picture of Translators
Hi there,