Grading for Units + assessment criteria

Grading for Units + assessment criteria

by Andrew King -
Number of replies: 3
We've been playing around with the Gradebook, but don't seem to be able to come up with a solution to a fairly significant problem with our course grading systems.

Our courses are assessed by a number of units, these units consist of assessment criteria, these assessment criteria are covered in a number of projects.

My problem is this: I deliver 18 units, each consisting of around 7-8 assessment criteria which needs to be graded. so that's around 150 grades in total.

Can anyone suggest a way of doing this in the gradebook, I'm fairly new at Moodle and I'm finding this aspect incredibly confusing!
In reply to Andrew King

Re: Grading for Units + assessment criteria

by David Fountain -

Hi Andrew

Sounds very like the OCR Nationals course.

I have one course per project. Criteria are ring-fenced in courses at the moment but I think gradebook 1.9 will allow us to cross course boundaries with regard to recording assessment.

Criteria are graded simply pass/fail.

I use gradebook plus and added in my criteria which I then simply give a value of 1 to indicate a pass and 0 to indicate it is incomplete. You could also create offline assignments which add a space for a grade in the gradebook without requiring students to interact with moodle at all, or create assignments that allow for uploading so that they can submit their evidence for assessment.

I created a block for displaying this to students.

If I have not covered your requirements please clarify and I will think of how else you can achieve your goals.

Dave

In reply to David Fountain

by Andrew King -

Thanks for your reply Dave.

We are running the Btec Nationals, I have got the grade types working using the scales tool, and I can setup an assignment per unit which works for tracking.

I really need something like this;

1. 18 Units that contain individually assessible assessment criteria.