I need to transfer a moodle-site, can i use backup?

I need to transfer a moodle-site, can i use backup?

by Jean-Paul Geerets -
Number of replies: 10
hi folks,

im new here.
i hope this Q isn't posted by someone else before.

im only an technical admin of the moodle site.

i have to transfer the *complete* moodle site, including all date inside, mysql database, etc etc from domain_1 to domain_2.

can anyone give me advice how to do this?
is it possible to use a backup function for this job?

all help is welcome!!

thanks in advanced!

Jean-Paul
Average of ratings: -
In reply to Jean-Paul Geerets

Re: I need to transfer a moodle-site, can i use backup?

by Chris Lamb -

The basic answer to your question is "yes".  Back up all the courses and download the resulting zip files to your computer.  Then go to your new Moodle installation, upload the zip files, and then go through the 'Restore' process for each one.  If you've got a lot of courses then it will be a long and tedious job, because you'll have to do each course individually, but it should transfer all the courses from one domain to the other.

I'm assuming that both domains are using the same version of Moodle.  If they're different versions that may cause problems, in which case check the Moodle site for information about upgrades, or hope that someone else answers your question here!  smile

HTH

Chris

In reply to Chris Lamb

Can I download Moodle directly to a server elsewhere?

by Keith Swift -

We are transferring our present moodle, but also maybe adding a separate #2 moodle.  My Dumb question:   Is it possible to download the latest Moodle via the Moodle download/a> page - directly to a server at another location other than my computer?  How?

I am reading at http://download.moodle.org/, but do not want the copy here on my pc, but rather at our server across the country!

In reply to Keith Swift

Re: Can I download Moodle directly to a server elsewhere?

by Chris Lamb -