Max File Size

Max File Size

by Javi Navarro Ferrando -
Number of replies: 5
Hello,

I'm new with moodle (1.7.1+).
I'm using Windows 2003 + IIS 6 + ISAPI PHP, and I've configured and create a new Moodle Course in less than an hour.

Now my problem is that I've seen that the Max File Size is only 2MB, and I can't configure more with Moodle.

I would need up to 15 or 20 Mb (there's no problem with the hosting provider because I have a dedicated server).

What should I do?

Thanks in advance
Average of ratings: -
In reply to Javi Navarro Ferrando

Re: Max File Size

by Ken Wilson -

Hi Javi

The equivalent setting in IIS is AspMaxRequestEntityAllowed. You'll need to edit your metabase.xml file as follows:

1. Open IIS Manager. Right-click on the server name and tick Enable Direct Metabase Edit.
  2. Stop the IIS service using IIS Manager or at the prompt (net stop iisadmin).
  3. Right-click and open the file c:\windows\system32\inetsvr\metabase.xml using WordPad.
  4. Edit -> Find -> AspMaxRequestEntityAllowed. Change the default (200KB) to the value you want in *bytes*, e.g. 20Mb = 20 * 1024 * 1024 = 20971520.
  5. Save the file.
  6. Restart IIS using IIS Manager.

Hope this helps!

Ken

In reply to Ken Wilson

by Javi Navarro Ferrando -
Hi Ken!

As it needs an IIS restart and I have other working websites using IIS, I'll try it tonight ;)

My question is: will moodle automatically see this changes and would let me to set A bigger upload size!

As far as I know (I'm a begginer) I can only select the max file size with a dropdownlist, that gives me closed options: 2MB, 1MB, 500KB, etc.

Thanks for your responses!

by Just H -
Hi Javi

I have no idea about IIS but on a linux box, as soon as you have changed it, the drop down changes to reflect your new settings - assume it would be the same on IIS.

Regards
Harry

by Ken Wilson -

Hi Javi