How to create a Listbox accepting multiple selections and tied to DB?

How to create a Listbox accepting multiple selections and tied to DB?

by Tan M -
Number of replies: 4

Hello there!

I am looking for some guidance today on changing the "course settings" page (course\edit.html). I would like to add a listbox that allows multiple selections. For example, something that looks like this:

http://www.fontstuff.com/images/acctut11c.gif

Now I am not a programmer, so I followed some google research to take the following step:

1. I used PHPMyAdmin to create a field in the course table called TESTFIELD.  For the field type I used SET and for the values (since you have to specify them) I put in some values (example: 'blue', 'red', 'green', 'yellow')

Now my thinking is that I need some code on the edit.html page that will pull the values from the TESTFIELD field, display them in a listbox, and then allow a user to select which values they would like.  Whether they select one or multiple, their selection should be saved in the TESTFIELD field.

This is where I am stuck.  Would someone be able to:

1) point me to code somewhere else in Moodle that does this same thing already?

2) if it's easy enough, provide me with a code snippet that will accomplish the above?

Thanks so much!  I look forward to your responses!  smile

Average of ratings: -
In reply to Tan M

Re: How to create a Listbox accepting multiple selections and tied to DB?

by Tan M -

Is it possible that not a single moodler knows how to accomplish this?!?!  surprise

I did some searching in the forums and it doesn't look like anyone has asked this question before... could it really be true that nobody has had a need for allowing multiple selections to be stored in a database field?

In reply to Tan M

by Mike Churchward -
Picture of Core developers Picture of Plugin developers Picture of Testers
Hi Tan -