Blank Pages with 1.2 Beta on RedHat

Blank Pages with 1.2 Beta on RedHat

by Sterling Ledet -
Number of replies: 12

I am getting blank pages on a Redhat install that definitely has index.php working correctly. I believe I've created the mysql database, and modified config.php correctly.

I'm wondering if you have to install the release moodle first before installing the beta.

Could that be my problem?

Is there anyway to test the mysql part and make sure I am using the correct database username and password, etc? I do get OK responses when I run through the install walkthrough, but I'm not a MySQL expert.

Average of ratings: -
In reply to Sterling Ledet

Re: Blank Pages with 1.2 Beta on RedHat

by Howard Miller -
Picture of Core developers Picture of Documentation writers Picture of Particularly helpful Moodlers Picture of Peer reviewers Picture of Plugin developers
No you don't have to install an previous versions.

Have you read all the FAQ stuff on blank pages? Have you checked your apache error logs to see if any specific errors are generated? Did you load the php-mysql module from the RedHat installation disk - this is NOT installed as a default. If you read the phpinfo output you should look for MySql support.

Its also worth doing a view-source on the blank page just in case something interesting is lurking (it usually isn't).

by Howard Miller -
Picture of Core developers Picture of Documentation writers Picture of Particularly helpful Moodlers Picture of Peer reviewers Picture of Plugin developers
If you want to make sure that you have set up your database properly, you can simply log in to mysql using the username and password you have set up, viz...

$ mysql -u moodleuser -p moodle_database
password: moodlepassword

(obviously substituting your info)

You can then do a couple of simple operations like,

> show tables;
> select * from mdl_user;