Can I combine the Moodle Registration and Course Enrollment Processes?

Can I combine the Moodle Registration and Course Enrollment Processes?

by Chuck Daniel -
Number of replies: 4

Hi Moodle Gurus,

I am a newbie to moodle but a software design engineer by training so am willing to make code modifications if necessary to accomplish my task. 

However, if there is another way to do this without making software modifications that would be even better!

Moodles design philosophy seems to be one of:

Register as a moodle user
Enroll for specific courses

What I would like to be able to do is have the registration and enrollment occur in one step.

The reason I want to do this is that I would like to have people coming to the site be able to register and join a specific course using an enrollment key that I provide them.  They will have paid to participate in the course outside of Moodle and I only want paid members to be able to join the site/course.

Can anyone please provide me with a method or feedback on the best way to accomplish this?  The multi-step join/enroll method will be confusing to the people I want to give access to the training so if I can combine them that would be the best for what I want to do.

I thought perhaps a custom login page might be the way to do this but am open to all possibilities.

Thanks in advance for your time.

I sincerely appreciate it!

-Chuck Daniel

Average of ratings: -
In reply to Chuck Daniel

Re: Can I combine the Moodle Registration and Course Enrollment Processes?

by Don Sloss -

One way I think might work is on the admin page for "Upload Users", if you click on the Moodle Doc for that page, it shows that you can upload users with a Comma Delimited Text file and automatically enroll them in a course at the same time. The doc will give you examples and show you all the varibles you can use. The header format is something like this:

First Name, Last Name, Password, Username, Course