Developers' test suite

Developers' test suite

by Matt Oquist -
Number of replies: 18
Recently finding myself with CVS access, I realize that I need to do better testing than I've been doing for the little project I've been working on in /contrib, which has ample warnings that it's NOT PRODUCTION READY, etc.

Surely I'm not the first person who will be developing tests for Moodle. smile

Is there a test suite for developers that I can obtain somewhere?

If not, does anyone have comments to make about the best way to start creating a common test suite? I've never done QA engineering before (so be warned), but here are a few thoughts to get things started:
  • develop the test suite under /contrib/developers_tests
  • develop a parent class ("devtest"?) under which individual [sets of] tests are then loaded as sub-classes
  • individual [sets of] test sub-classes should be located in /contrib/developers_tests/tests (or something like that)
  • going to http://your-dev-moodle.com/devtest (or something like that) should bring up a page from which you can select tests to run
  • we should probably have some sort of "grading" or "grouping" mechanism so that tests can be selected as predetermined groups, e.g.:
    • Base Tests
    • User Interface Tests (should include descriptions of intended appearance of UI elements)
    • Database Tests
    • Library API Tests
  • each test should identify the minimum and maximum Moodle versions it's known to test correctly
I'm sure lots of people have already developed their own tests and testing procedures, so hopefully the above is all moot. Where is all this shared, or where could we share it?
Average of ratings: -
In reply to Matt Oquist

Re: Developers' test suite

by Petar Atanasov -
In addition to your suggestion - the test module should include:
For both functionality and db:
- regression tests (test of new functionalities and check if the're backward compatible to older versions of moodle)
For the db: