What is parent theme and is there any license issues?

What is parent theme and is there any license issues?

by Abdur Rahim -
Number of replies: 3
Hi,

I am new in Moodle theme development. I want to build a custom theme for my internal project. So I was reading the Moodle theme document for theme development. And there I read some points that "Themes can also be based on parent themes with only few customizations."  
I want to know these things
1. What is the parent theme? Boost/Classic or any existing free/paid theme provided by others.
2. If I build a theme based on any third-party theme then will there be any license issues?

In the document, I also found a point that "Most theme developers simply add a few changes to their new theme by basing it on an existing one"
so can you also explain this point. Thanks in advance.
Average of ratings: -
In reply to Abdur Rahim

Re: What is parent theme and is there any license issues?

by Emma Richardson -
Picture of Documentation writers Picture of Particularly helpful Moodlers Picture of Plugin developers
I will let the developers answer those questions but there is a guide in the docs on how to make a child theme - I would start there.
On the licensing question, if you base a theme off a paid theme, you will have to pay for it. The parent theme has to also be installed on the site.
In reply to Abdur Rahim

by Rajneel Totaram -
Picture of Moodle HQ
"Themes can also be based on parent themes with only few customizations." and "Most theme developers simply add a few changes to their new theme by basing it on an existing one" have similar meanings.

You can use an existing theme as the base (parent) and create a new child theme. This child theme will inherit all the styles and properties of the parent theme. This is the main benefits of having a parent theme. The child theme only needs to focus on the customisations it wishes to add. It will inherit the other styles from this parent theme.