Moodle 3.9 - reduce the size of mdl_log table

Moodle 3.9 - reduce the size of mdl_log table

by Verónica V. -
Number of replies: 19

Hello community, I am writing this time to ask you how to reduce the size of the mdl_log table. I have an environment (Moodle) that I have been updating for several years and this table has grown too much. This is a problem every time I have to update the version.

If someone knows something about this I appreciate your help.

Best regards.
Verónica.

Average of ratings: -
In reply to Verónica V.

Re: Moodle 3.9 - reduce the size of mdl_log table

by Rick Jerz -
Picture of Particularly helpful Moodlers Picture of Testers
As I recall, you can adjust how long you want Moodle to keep your logs. This is found in Administration, Plugins, Logging, Standard Log. The default is "Never delete logs." But if you change this to something like "90 days," the mdl_log table (i.e., mdl_logstore_standard_log) will not grow large. Of course, if you don't keep all the data, if you every want to run special statistics, your Moodle might not be able to do so.
In reply to Rick Jerz

by Verónica V. -

Hi Rick, thank you very much for your answer, but I would like to keep the records until 2017 and the rest delete it. But it won't let me, the maximum is 1000 days, can that be changed?

On the other hand, I activate it and what happens, it just takes care of deleting the records in the mdl_log table?

Again thank you very much.
Best regards.
Verónica.

In reply to Verónica V.

by Rick Jerz -
The actual maximum is "Never delete logs." So, the jump is from around 2.75 years to infinity. You cannot easily change this. You might be able to create a Tracker request that this setting be changed to a specific date, like 12/31/2017, or maybe to a table size, like 500GB. But the size of this table depends on how you and your students use your Moodle.

I should have told you to back up your Moodle before making this change. You probably keep regular backups, right?