Rest API Authentication Error

Rest API Authentication Error

by Nathan Loudon -
Number of replies: 15

Hi, I am very new to Moodle, trying to use the rest API with postman. I have:

Enable web services in Site administration > Advanced features

Enabled Rest in Site administration > Server > Web services > Manage protocols

Created new service in Site administration > Server > Web services > External Services

Added function to service - core_course_get_courses_by_field

Users -> All Users (just to get it working, will be a username "web-api")

Created a token for username "web-api"

Send PostMan request:

https://lms.XXXXX.com/webservice/rest/server.php?wstoken=XXXX&moodlewsrestformat=json&wsfunction=core_course_get_courses_by_field&field=id&value=1

But am receiving:

{
    "exception": "webservice_access_exception",
    "errorcode": "accessexception",
    "message": "Access control exception"
}

I have also tried enrolling that user in the course, but nadda.

Any idea what I'm missing?

Cheers!

Average of ratings: -
In reply to Nathan Loudon

Re: Rest API Authentication Error

by Nathan Loudon -

So the bit I missed was "Enabling capabilities". I had to create a new role, then assign that role to the user. This page made it clearer:

/admin/category.php?category=webservicesettings

by David Ramirez -
Hello, I'm having the same issue, but I don't understand your solution. Can you please give me a hand. 

Cheers
In reply to David Ramirez

by Nathan Loudon -
I think it was this line that guided me to the solution:

Check user capability: The user should have appropriate capabilities according to the protocols used, for example webservice/rest:use, webservice/soap:use. To achieve this, create a web services role with protocol capabilities allowed and assign it to the web services user as a system role.

If you go here /admin/roles/manage.php and add a role, and give it the capabilities you require, mine is currently:

usersmoodle/user:create