Groups and Sub-Groups

Groups and Sub-Groups

by John Arkens -
Number of replies: 4

Hello all,

I am an absolute newbie to Moodle.  I have searched the documentation and the forums, gaining some information, but I still haven't been able to comprehend  wholly groups.

My school is looking for a certain design for these groups, and I wonder if and how this is possible with Moodle.

We would like teachers and department heads to be able to create their own courses.  Under each department would be all the classes for the teachers.  Yet, each teacher is only able to view their own class and the department head able to view their department.

Is this possible, or is there a better way of working around this situation?

Thanks!

Average of ratings: -
In reply to John Arkens

Re: Groups and Sub-Groups

by Steve Iman -
John: I'm a newbie myself, but depending on the complexity of your design, I'm sure that what you want is possible. I installed a version of Moodle with the help of a friend and designed "categories" of courses (departments?). Within separate categores I created "courses". (Actually, when I design a course and offer various sections, I create a back up of one section, and with use it for all handouts, assignments, etc. in a second version of the section.) In each course the administrator can assign teachers. There may be some administrator configurations related to "categories" but I'm not sure. Giving the department head administrative priveleges would allow him or her to scan and review all courses in the moodle.

So I'm just wanting to be optimistic, and I bet you'll get better answers.
In reply to Steve Iman

by John Arkens -

Update:

The department heads and teachers are no longer designated to create courses, just those with admin privileges.  Now the design looks similar to this:

• School
    • Department
      • Courses
        • Students/Teachers