Knowledge Base with User File Access Tracking

by Devin D. -
Number of replies: 5

Hello all!

I'm pretty new to Moodle in general, but I'm working on an instance for training in my organization and have a specific need that I haven't found a solution for yet.

We are currently using Moodle 3.11.4, and I'm looking for the best way to have a knowledge base that users can access PDFs or pages for reference material outside of a course (SDS, or Safety Data Sheets), and we need to be able to see when a given user or users have accessed any of those files or pages.

My boss and I were thinking about posting a Single Activity Format course for each file and track the completion dates for the "students", but we have over one hundred (100) files, so that would be a bit kludgy in my view.  Are there any best practice ways of doing this, or any plugins available to help?

Thanks in advance! 😁

Average of ratings: -
In reply to Devin D.

by Stefan Scholz -
Picture of Plugin developers
Hi Devin,

Here’s what I would do:

Create one course per topic - I’m sure there is some kind of structure that would sense to group so many documents. Place the documents in those courses, ideally again structured using sections in those courses. Having to levels might be to much for your use cases then you can either use one course only but with sections, or many courses with no sections.

Each file should then be configured with activity completion set to „require view“. This will enable you to easily track the first time a user opened the file. And each additional time can be seen in the logs.

Depending on the way you have setup your moodle site and if you want to use it for other purposes, you’ll then want to enrol your users somehow into the course(s) - either using self enrolment, cohort sync or maybe auto enrolment (plugin required).

Optional but i’d recommend it: