Strange Server behavior

Strange Server behavior

by Michael Knichel -
Number of replies: 13

Today, I logged into my moodle site (on a shared hosting server) and noticed that the Gear for Turn Editing On is just a square box.  I also noticed that when I click on a Topic, it doesn't open that topic (used to open it in single topic view.

I was using Chrome, so I switched to FireFox and am able to open just a single topic, bu all of the icons for editing etc are just a square box.  (like a checkbox).  The activity/resource icons are fine.

I was trying to add files to my course (in different topics).  I added a pdf to my first topic in a new course and it worked fine.  When I tried to add a pdf to my second topic, it failed to write to disk.  Now I cannot upload any files.  

Could it be a folder permissions issue?  Where do I start looking?  What should the perms be?  I am fairly new to moodle.

MK

Average of ratings: -
In reply to Michael Knichel

Re: Strange Server behavior

by Leon Stringer -
Picture of Core developers Picture of Particularly helpful Moodlers

If you can share screenshots or exact errors we may be better placed to assist. For example: "When I tried to add a pdf to my second topic, it failed to write to disk" – how do you know this, what exactly did it say?

Turning debugging on may add more details to any errors to help resolve this.

It could be a folder permissions issue but that's unlikely to become an issue unless the site never worked, is this a new site or migrated site? Have you checked if the disk space is full?

If icons are appearing as squares maybe the Font Awesome icons (or similar depending on the theme) cannot be read by the browser. If you use your browser's developer tools (e.g. Network Monitor in Firefox) you may see some requests failing. Can you share the details with us? Hide or remove any information in screenshots or messages that you don't want to share on the Internet.

In reply to Leon Stringer

by Michael Knichel -