Additional HTML

Additional HTML

by ahmad my -
Number of replies: 7

Hello Every one.

I am new to moodle. I have a added a code to the "within Head" section and my website came down. I am wondering how I can delete the code. I cannot reach my website now.

Site admin > Appearance > Additional HTML and I added to the "Within HEAD" section.

Average of ratings: -
In reply to ahmad my

Re: Additional HTML

by Ken Task -
Picture of Particularly helpful Moodlers

Usually a good idea to share what version of Moodle and what theme using for a question like this, but ... try this ...

In config.php file of your site, add a line:

$CFG->additionalhtmlhead='';

just above the line that shows:

require_once(__DIR__ . '/lib/setup.php');

To set additionalhtmlhead to nothing.

Then see if you can login and go to the admin area where you added it and remove via  Web interface.

'SoS', Ken

In reply to Ken Task

by ahmad my -
Thank you so much. It worked. I really appreciate it
In reply to ahmad my

by Ken Task -

Glad to hear it.  Lesson learned???? Errant html in that location can/will cause WSoD (the 'white screen of death') cause Moodle Themes are inline ... applies to entire site and for all users.

So if one is gonna try again, check that the HTML has appropriate opening tags as well as matching closing tags.   Tip: never copy and paste from MS Word any HTML - not without running that html via tidy to clean up M$ junk html.

'SoS', Ken

In reply to Ken Task

by Emma Richardson -
Picture of Documentation writers Picture of Particularly helpful Moodlers Picture of Plugin developers
Nice fix - I was going to tell them to find it in the database - that is what I had to do when I broke my site with an a missing colon or something similar!!!
In reply to Emma Richardson

by Ken Task -

The 'fix' provided by using the cfg.php tool in admin/cli/ - so credit goes to whomever thought of/wrote/maintains that script.

I now do this on every server:

cd code/admin/cli/