importing from Blackboard

importing from Blackboard

by James Shay -
Number of replies: 19
I am new to moodle coming from blackboard. I have a pool of questions that I want to import from blackboard. when I export from Blackboard, I get 2 files. One a .xml file and one a .dat file. I cannot get either of these to import into Moodle.
Average of ratings: -
In reply to James Shay

Re: importing from Blackboard

by Howard Miller -
Picture of Core developers Picture of Documentation writers Picture of Particularly helpful Moodlers Picture of Peer reviewers Picture of Plugin developers
Which version of BB? I think they changed the format - there has been some discussion of this in the past I am sure. Can you attach an example exported file?
In reply to Howard Miller

by James Shay -
We have version 6.3.1. I am also attaching an export file. I do not know which one you would like to see. I am sending the .dat file.
In reply to James Shay

by Robert Rittenhouse -
The .dat file is what you want to import.
In reply to Robert Rittenhouse

by James Shay -
when I do that, nothing happens. It seems that moodle gets stuck midway through. The process starts but then hangs.
In reply to James Shay

by A. T. Wyatt -
I tried your file on our instance, and I got an error message also.  But when I looked at the file, I thought that the problem might lie in the question types.

Were these true/false, multiple choice type questions?  I found references to "shuffle", things that looked like calculated questions, etc.  But it was pretty hard to read.

Maybe the problem is that you are trying to import question types that Moodle can't read?  I have been successful importing multiple choice and true/false.  I haven't tried anything more exotic!

If you can, try a simpler question pool.  Then at least you will know more about where the problem lies.
In reply to A. T. Wyatt

by A. T. Wyatt -