qtype formulas (moodle 3.8)

qtype formulas (moodle 3.8)

by Hubert Ambrois -
Number of replies: 9

Hello

I am new with using of qtype formulas in Moodle.
My question is :

I have 2 answers box placeholders say H and L (_0 and _1)
Can I use these variables in others subquestions to do intermediate calculations ?
In fact can I use them as global variables ?

Thank you for your response
Hubert AMBROIS

Institute of technology of Reunion Island

Average of ratings: -
In reply to Hubert Ambrois

Re: qtype formulas (moodle 3.8)

by Dominique Bauer -
Picture of Documentation writers Picture of Particularly helpful Moodlers Picture of Plugin developers

Hello Hubert,

_0 and _1 are student answers. They can be used as local grading variables in the current subquestion but not in other sub-questions which have their own student answers.

With the Formulas question, the use of student answers in the rest of the calculations is possible but limited because this type of question was not designed for this purpose. If you are interested in this ability, take a look at the STACK question.

For an example with the Formulas question, see here

In reply to Dominique Bauer

by Hubert Ambrois -

Hello,

Thank you for your response.

I am a teacher in the civil engineering department of the IUT of Réunion (French island) and have been using the Moodle platform for a few years. I recently discovered the "question formula" tool of the "test" activity.

I have developed labs in structural mechanics with the Google sheets tool that I would like to transfer to the moodle platform, using the formula question in particular.

My questions are:

Which drawing plugin (among the many proposed) do you recommend for drawing curves (typically N, V, M stress diagrams in a portal frame for example)?

Do you have any test examples with "formula" questions to suggest (we learn faster from examples)?

Can we draw students diagrams ? with students answers (using _0, _1...variables)