Jump from Lesson to Quiz

Jump from Lesson to Quiz

by Katie Campbell -
Number of replies: 3

Hi, Moodle newbie here! Is there a way to add content at the end of my lesson to jump to the quiz under the same topic?

Average of ratings: -
In reply to Katie Campbell

Re: Jump from Lesson to Quiz

by Al Henneberger -
The answer is most definitely. Nearly all lessons I create have a quiz at the end. The way I do it is a multistep process.  Is the below the easiest or best way, probably not, but it works for us.
First, I add an End of Lesson page. I will add some content to this page.  It is important to use the End of Lesson page instead of a new content page.
Next, I add content to the page. See my example below.  You can say whatever you want.

Now we need to get the URL of the quiz.  To do that, open a new instance of Moodle in a new tab in your browser, you may get a popup asking if you want to Logout or Cancel (at least in Chrome).  Click Cancel.  Go to your lesson and click on the quiz--DO NOT ATTEMPT THE QUIZ.  Copy the URL from the browser address bar, your URL should be similar to the image below.

You can now close that tab or leave it open.  I sometimes have upwards of half a dozen Moodle tabs open at one time to various lessons, pages, admin functions, or whatever.
Go back to the Lesson page you were working on.  Highlight the text you want to associate to the quiz (in the above case it is Please click here to complete the course Quiz).  Click on the link button in the editor.

Now paste the URL you copied previously into the Link's popup.

I usually leave the Open in new window unchecked.  Now Save it and test it.
Since we also allow open book exams, on this same page I usually make reference to that and also provide a link to appropriate pdf the same way we made the link to the quiz, though in this case, I do check the Open in new window so they can refer to the pdf and the quiz at the same time either in different windows or tabs.