Understand path for automated backups in relation to folders that I can access via ftp

Understand path for automated backups in relation to folders that I can access via ftp

by Ferran Hj -
Number of replies: 14

Hello,

I am trying to specify a directory for automated course backups in Moodle 3.8.3, installed on a Debian machine by a host provider. Due to my being a newbie, I don't run anything manually using a terminal. I can acess some server settings and the database of the Moodle via a Plesk. I access files via ftp, and in there the first directory contains something like this:

• /httpdocs/
  • /mymoodle/
  • /logs/
I cannot access the folders that precede these; or at least I don't know why.

Now, I am confused about the composition of directories for the backups (Automated backup setup), and how it relates to my folders in the server (such as /mymoodle/moodledata/ and other folders).

I have read a few threads around this forum, such as this, but I fail to understand how to compose a path that would place the .mbz files into a folder such as /mymoodle/mybackups or httpdocs/mybackups.

I found an example by Ken Task in a reply, for a Linux case: /home/mybackups/, but how would I then access this folder?

Could someone explain in a simple way for a neophyte like me?

Thank you!

Average of ratings: -
In reply to Ferran Hj

Re: Understand path for automated backups in relation to folders that I can access via ftp

by Ken Task -
Picture of Particularly helpful Moodlers

Before venturing any advice, how much space do you have left to use?

Reason ... size of automated course backups (which is an unknown) could be really more than you have space.   And ... the very last thing one wants is to run out of space.

BTW, reason you saw advice given about /home/mybackups is generally on most linux systems but not always /home/ is the largest partition.